And I’m here!

I have had another shift inside me. I can’t put my finger on it, but somewhere over the weekend I had an ‘Ah ha!’ moment. Sitting at home with TB on Sunday evening, and coming into work yesterday, the sky was bluer, I felt peaceful, settled and above all happy. Every so often you get little nudges to remind yourself how lucky you are to be here. Wish I knew what it was, I would have put it in my inspiration book. So while I ponder have a think on this:

The Colour Purple has been turned into a musical on Broadway. Celie is being played by Fantasia, who won American Idol a few years ago. This girl has the most amazing voice, and I am so glad that she has been found; singing from her heart she is more emotive than Beyonce hopes to be. Celie is one of the strongest characters in American Fiction, and is summed up by the last verse in the last song of the musical:

I believe I have inside of me
Everything that I need to live a bountiful life
With all the love alive in me
I’ll stand as tall as the tallest tree
And I’m
Thankful for everyday that I’m given
Both the easy and the hard ones I’m livin’
But most of all
I’m thankful for
Loving who I really am
I’m beautiful
Yes I’m beautiful
And I’m here

When she holds the note on ‘here’ the hairs rise on the back of your neck. She sings it so powerfully, clear and true – Fantasia is Celie. The girl who was seen as nothing by her father and husband, beaten, abused, raped and living a hellish life is thankful for one thing. That she is still alive, still on this wonderful planet, and that she was able to see her sister again after being separated from Nettie for so long.

So love and respect yourself above all, when you can truly look in the mirror and say ‘I love you’ and mean it and be grateful for what life has given you (because if you change one thing you won’t be reading this), stop wishing for what might have been, and enjoy today. Take each day as it comes, enjoy life, it is far too short not to. You are here to relish, wallow and luxuriate in it, so many people aren’t.

Leave a Reply

