The Art Of Procrastination

This is one of my favourite subjects, while not actually doing it – although there are days when I will quite gladly stay in bed and read, as long as I don’t see the washing piling up downstairs, I can’t fret over it, but I admire those who procrastinate in greatness.

However, I am on my own in the house.  Today I have 2 books that I want to finish, the filing to cull, (although I may make DG go through it all with me tomorrow), I have some articles I’ve collated this week to stick into my inspiration book – and yet I find myself surfing and catching up on websites.  I wonder if the fine art of procrastination has reached fever pitch with the onset of broadband and blogs and bytes and boobies?

Being a true procrastinator doesn’t mean you don’t get things done, because you do.  You just do other things first, sometimes to avoid doing what you’ve signed up for, but sometimes because you need to do research, think things through, plan how to write that article/report/homework.  It also means that as some people work better under pressure, they will put off doing what they are doing until the last minute; but they also know that when push comes to shove, they need to have the knowledge there first, so work on the task in hand in a roundabout way, and just deliver it later than some people would be comfortable with.

It also means taking on less commitments, because if you know you have a report due in a week, you’ll need to faff about with it first, so you won’t sign up to bee-keeping classes, unless you want to keep bees.  You won’t get dragged to a film you don’t want to see, as you have better things to do (for me Avatar, I know I will get round to seeing it eventually, DG will be buying the DVD I am sure.  But there are other films I want to see ahead of that one, I am not wasting my hard-earned dollars to watch special effects over a storyline).  You don’t sign your children up to millions of extraneous extracurricular activities; as you recognise is spending time with them yourself is more important, less expensive and what your children want too, so voila, you are no longer a taxi service to them and have more time for yourself and your family.  You also switch your mobiles off, or at least leave them alone for a day a week, so you don’t tweet, facebook, email and text, and you can lie about with the newspapers and an old black and white film, chatting with your much beloved and family.  The world won’t fall in if you don’t answer an email.

I have planned to have today to myself, ostensibly to think, but when push comes to shove, sometimes you are just not in the mood to do what you have planned to do.  So what do you do then?  Do you arrange your sock drawer, do the washing up, dust your bookshelves?  Well I can’t as my socks are all neat and tidy, DG cleaned the kitchen before he left, and my books are probably the only things in the house that get dusted on a weekly basis.

So now what? I have a day to myself to do what I want with and what I’ve planned to do, I don’t feel like doing right now, so I put off what I plan to do, to do something else.  I’ve cleaned the bathrooms, I could have a bath, but then I would feel guilty about wasting water in this dry country.  I could go for a walk, but that would mean having a shower and doing something about my bed-head first.  I could watch a DVD, but I don’t want to sit in front of the TV.  I could finish the two books that I want to finish today, but I don’t feel like reading them right now.  I could weed the garden, but honestly, I can’t be bothered.  I guess I will just have to have a think about what to do, but first I need to have some lunch, then I’ll have a think.

Leave a Reply

