Writers block

Sorry folks, I have been lax of late on here.  I’ve been holding space in the Owning Pink community, so have been writing and responding to articles, encouraging members and generally writing off and on nearly every evening this week.  Consequently, finding something to witter to you about has been elusive.

I could write about some of the topics I’ve covered as a Pinkie.  Taking the Pink Pussy Tour?  Yes, that is what you think it is.  Cheering on a Transgender male to female who is in awe that people all over the world are encouraging her transition, when all around her until now has been fear, stigmatism, prejudice and hatred.  Or Owning Sexy.  We’ve been celebrating our bodies and relishing our stretch marks today.  It’s a funny forum.  Men and women are on it.  Men read it, I know I am getting funny texts, emails and tweets from people who’ve found it through my Twitter feed.  The only thing you have to remember is that some of the people on there are hurting.  Hurting bad.  Some have been through hell, and have come out the other side smiling.

One thing we all have in common is selflessness.  Now I can tell there will be a few of you that snort when you read that.  But loving and treating others as you want to be treated is how I was brought up.  It is just a shame that when I tried to exercise that, it was not remembered by those who taught it to me.

Owning Pink is about getting your mojo back.  For a long time it felt like mine had upped, left and slammed the door behind it.  What I LOVE about the community is the absolute unconditional love that pours out of the posts.  You are there to encourage and be encouraged.  That is all.  I recommend it heartily.  Both inside and outside the walls of the t’internet.  Love and treat others as you want to be treated.  You’ll be amazed at what happens in your life because of it.

My induction at work is well underway, I’ve covered off most of the day-to-day tasks with the temp that was in the role before me.  Now I am being talked at for an hour by various people in the organisation to get an overview of how everyone slots together and all works as a team.  Taking copious notes in my scrawl.  Big looping ‘gs’, ‘js’, ‘ys’.  I noticed that despite whatever anyone was talking to me about, I could write down everything they said.  Knowing how to spell the words, knowing that my mind was linked to my eyes, ears and hand.  It was a bit of an ‘a-ha!’ today, I must admit.  I’ve been reading and writing for nearly 30 years, so it should be no surprise that I have a good vocabulary, but today I was reminded that even typing this to you, I shouldn’t take it for granted.  I need to make more of an effort.  I am getting more and more readers, so need to have things for them to read.  Not have them popping back to the same post day after day.

Leave a Reply

