I wonder if I will ever get there?

I have the house to myself tonight.  So I’ve caught up on my TV from the digi-box.  I watched Zoe Wanamaker’s Who Do You Think You Are?  She spent some time in Chicago and Washington, I’ve now put on Frankie & Johnny, one of my favourite films and am looking at the streets of New York with a pang.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to go to America.  Not Florida or the touristy areas, per se, but the cities.  I want to sit on sidewalks and watch people walk by, I want to watch the steam come out the vents on the streets of New York, walk through Central Park and go to a free concert.  I could go on and on about all the things I’d like to do.

You’d think Melbourne would be enough wouldn’t you?  I mean look at it:

It’s beautiful.

Leave a Reply

