Weekend Round Up

I am the healthiest sick person I know.  I am strong, fit, robust, but if there is a bug going round, you can guarantee, it will come knocking at my door.

This weekend, what I thought was something I ate on Wednesday and Thursday night (take-away curry) that made me feel peculiar, actually was a lurgy.  Probably viral, as my throat is bright red, I got up yesterday had breakfast and was clearing my dishes away when I thought, I think I ought to go back to bed.  I was light-headed, the room was spinning and I felt decidedly odd.  I spent yesterday in bed, have got up today, still feeling a bit out of whack, but now have so much to do, I don’t have any option other than to do what I can today.  If I need a siesta this afternoon, I’ll have one, but housework beckons. 

My CEO is out the office next week, and I have the daftest, silliest man who is acting in her stead to work with for 5 days.  He is a Brit, has been out here for over 10 years, and we talk Blackadder, Only Fools and Horses, Red Dwarf, Alas Smith and Jones, The Adventure Game (remember Uncle Aspidistra anyone) to our Aussie co-workers bemusement.  I’m wearing my Multi Coloured Swap Shop scarf next week to see what response that will get!  It has been like a breath of fresh air being able to talk UK Culture with someone, while I’ve made a few friends over here, being able to speak to someone who grew up over there and shares the same ideas of what is good TV (BBC Dramas and Comedy from 60s-90s) and what isn’t (Neighbours, Packed To The Rafters, Big Border Patrol High School Miami NCIS Brother) is a welcome relief. 

I love living here, it is my home, and I felt that as soon as I had to fly back to England after our initial three weeks scouting out Melbourne to choose where we wanted to live.  But there are somethings I miss desperately about the UK, Marmite notwithstanding, and good TV is one of them.  I know us Brits can make some God Awful programmes too, but the Nature Programmes that come out of BBC Wales, good solid comedy programmes, Who Do You Think You Are?  Documentaries that don’t play to the American audience, and just educate you over an hour, instead of spreading out 15 minutes worth of information over the hour leaving either screaming at the TV in frustration or turning it off completely are worth so much.  We watch SBS News from 6:30 – 7:30pm, then put on a DVD or watch a recorded programme.  Channels 7, 9, Go!, 7TWO and 10 rarely get a look in.  We watch more sport than anything else, especially with the Tour de France now started.  Hubs came to bed at 3am today, replete with football, cricket and cycling.

The Daytona 500 is now on, and I have to drag him away from the couch so that I can go to the shops, I can’t go on my own, I don’t want to keel over half way round, and if I send him on his own all sorts of things will end up in the trolley.  I should get him back in time to watch this afternoon’s AFL match, we’ll dust and hoover in shifts around the adverts.  Good job I like sport really, otherwise I’ll be stuffed.

One thought on “Weekend Round Up

Leave a Reply

