Going deeper than ever before

I had an amazing class at Bikram yesterday (this didn’t post last night for some reason, sorry folks).  I’ve moved up to the front row, although staring at my bed head and the bags under my eyes first thing is not pretty.  I don’t look fantabulous first thing in the morning, it has to be said.  One of the guys I used to work with said ‘You are a really lovely looking girl, but some days you do look really rough’  Nice.

I digress, the deepest back bend in Bikram Yoga is called camel:

In theory, you should be able to see your feet at some point in the future, some people even end up with their chin on the floor.  Eek. 

The whole time I’ve been practicing Bikram, I’ve done the set up for Camel, hands on your bum, lean back, stomach forward, but I never completed the posture, well look at it!  Today, I put my hands on my feet and went back into it.  I felt euphoric, that is the only word I can use to describe it.  Heaven alone knows why I was scared of it.  I know there are going to be days ahead when I move into it and I release tensions and I will feel bluddy awful – but today I could have shouted ‘YAY’.

Leave a Reply

