On Oprah coming to Australia

Anyone who knows me, knows I adore Oprah Winfrey. As you may have seen, she’s coming to Sydney in December. The ballot for tickets are now open, but I am not applying. Which may come as a surprise to you, but reading the terms and conditions, I cannot get to Sydney 1 or 2 days beforehand to pick up the tickets in person.

Yes, I know if I got given tickets, I would remember it for the rest of my life. But I am practical and pragmatic about this, I can’t get there, so I am not going to apply. I am not going to apply for the sake of it and rob someone else of the opportunity to get there.

I made the decision before I knew the Ts & Cs, we’ve been to Hobart, Port Douglas and Adelaide this year. A long weekend in Sydney is not practicable in the budget or at work at the moment. I’ve admired Oprah for 20-odd years, I will continue to admire her for many more. I hope everyone who gets a ticket in the a ballot has a ball. I’ll watch from my couch, fast forwarding through the adverts like I’ve done for years.

Leave a Reply

