In lieu of Christmas cards…

The festive message I sent to my colleagues today:

Folks,

This is a hard time of year for me, I make jokes about being bah-humbug-ish, but in all honesty I am missing my UK family and friends desperately. Trying to keep in contact with them through emails, phone calls, and yes even Twitter, cannot compare with sitting in the same room as someone you love, laughing, joking, crying and finishing each other’s sentences because you know them so well.

@RBthinks jokes about how I am still stuck in the UK, but I think I always will be when my brother and I are separated as we are. I’m proud of my heritage, proud I’m a quarter Welsh, but also proud that I took the plunge to follow my heart and make a decision that continues to make me happy daily, particularly when my husband brings me a cup of tea in bed with a grin on his face as he did this morning. “Remember when…” doesn’t happen very often in my life now, unless I’m talking with my beloved boy. I am lucky to have a bank of memories with Hubs, (mostly about food and where we’ve eaten), that we’re proudly building up as our own family.

Hand on my heart; this is the best job I’ve had since I arrived in Melbourne. The past 18 months have been a struggle for Hubs and I, but both of us changing jobs this year helped lift us in more ways than I can tell you. I love working here, love the shrieks of laughter that come from the kitchen, love that we all cheer each other on when we’re grumpy and don’t think we can do another thing, but somehow meet deadlines for tenders time and again. I love that while typing this I’ve been crying, but JP has delivered me a coffee and ignored it, knowing if I want to talk I will do. There have been more than a few tears of frustration as things didn’t go as planned with our epic move, but now, the dark times have passed and Hubs and I have only the future to look forward to. Starting work here turned my, and our, life around. I thank you all from the bottom of my heart for your welcome this year, Merry Christmas.

One thought on “In lieu of Christmas cards…

  1. hey gorgeous girl …. despite how much I miss you, I am happy you are happy.
    Who knows, maybe one day we will be able to have a proper hot chocolate and not a cyber one :)
    Loveyaguts…. have a fab Christmas and chat soon ….

    Miss you lots
    xxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

