Update on the move

I’m supposed to be studying this afternoon, but I can’t concentrate. My brain is full. One of the Managers here suggested that I write, so I’m going to.

The move has gone well, insofar that we’ve only got a few things left at the old house: Our mattress and headboard, the filing cabinet, the fridge and a couple of chairs. We’ve done load after load in the ute, and in the car, and also in BILs car. I was keeping count, but have lost the sheet of paper (quelle suprise) with the tally on. We’d got to 10 loads in the ute and over 10-15 in the cars. We’ve mostly done everything on our own, which may surprise people, but the offers of help we had are available this weekend, not last weekend, so we just kept going until either we got fed up and didn’t want to play any more, or my body waved a white flag and said ‘Enough for the day’.

There is also something to be said for being a clean freak, as it only took about an hour to spring clean the top of the house. The oven is another matter, as I can’t help with cleaning it as fumes from the cleaner and pregnant women don’t mix. The downstairs of the house won’t take long to do either – hurrah! 

Tonight we’re going to empty the freezer into a cool box and cover everything with ice, unplugging the fridge it will be ready to go in the morning, and by Saturday night everything will be in the new house. It’s utter chaos in there, as to be expected, and also as to be expected I’m struggling with not having everything sorted out already.

I know why I’m frustrated, it’s because the furniture isn’t in the right places; so I can’t put stuff away, but at the same time, I can’t move the furniture around on my own any more, so I’m stuck waiting for it to be moved. Patience isn’t one of my virtues as you all well know, if nothing else this pregnancy is forcing me to slow down and listen to my body and what it’s telling me. I can hand on my heart say that I’ve not lifted more than I should, I’ve not done too much and over last weekend, I slept every afternoon to make sure I was ok to carry on working.

Having said that, last night over dinner Hubs asked me if I enjoyed being pregnant, and I said ‘I am now’. I am amazed at how much energy I have, I don’t need to sleep as much as I did before I got pregnant, which takes some getting used to, and most mornings I’m leaping out of bed with energy. Today, I was up and chattering away to Hubs as I put a load of washing on and tidied up, moving boxes around in my dressing gown and bed head. Poor boy, he’s sat there at 6am with his coffee and toast trying to come to and I’m asking him for a screwdriver so I can put together a towel rail.

That same Manager who advised me to write this afternoon also finds it worrying that I take such great pleasure from doing laundry. But I’ve just worked out over the years that if my home is comfortable and in order, I function much better as a human being. Oprah Winfrey says that your home should rise up to meet you, my guru Peter Walsh advises people to start with an image of what they want their house to look like and slowly work towards it, doing something every day to get there, then carry on doing something every day to maintain it.

I’m pleased that when the house is up and running, a load of laundry gets done most days of the week, what with towels and bedding, and two gym bunnies it’s not that unusual, heaven alone knows how many loads I’ll be doing when Peanut arrives and the nappies need to be washed too. (Will write more on that on the other blog at a later date). I’m pleased that every Monday morning, all our clothes are hanging up and ready to wear in the wardrobes. I’m pleased that the dishes get done as soon as they’ve been used.

But, I’m not anal about the house, and believe me there’s a big difference! For those of you who’ve been to my house will know that every weekend the papers are littered all over the living room; you’re encouraged to take your shoes off and curl up on the couch, (with a blanket around you if needs be); if you want to stay in bed for a lie-in you can do. One of my friends said it was lovely visiting our house, she said it was like staying at a hotel, she felt so comfortable.

This month has been hard work, physically and mentally. I use tidying up and cleaning as a form of meditation, if I concentrate on that, I can stop the monkey mind reminding me about everything else. While I meditate every day any way, tidying up also helps me rationalise and compartmentalise things that are going on in my life. I’ve lived in chaos between two houses for a week, and lived in chaos surrounded by boxes for a couple of weeks before that. I’m at the point where I now need to get this muddle sorted out, because I’m getting ratty round the edges. I have little pockets of calm, the kitchen if you look at it from one angle is fine, but the other, not fine.

Hubs has just texted me to say everything should now be arriving at the new house tonight. Which is good on the one hand, but it just adds to the mess at the new house on the other hand. I know in a couple of days this will have passed, right now I’m in the middle of it and it’s teaching me lots of things. One big thing it’s taught me, next time we move, we’re booking someone to do it for us.

Leave a Reply

