Onwards and upwards

Thank you for the texts and tweets regarding my last post. I know I’ve a lot of people rooting for me out there, which is reassuring. It looks like I may have just been in a funk on Monday, as I feel a lot better than I did.

I say ‘may’ as you never know, while I certainly don’t have a voice listing all my negative qualities in my head any more, concentrating is hard work at the moment, and takes, well, concentration. I’m also aware that I’m not exercising as much as I should do, but my motivation seems to have gone out the window, I’m just going to have to get off my bum and do it. Not think about it, just do it. Sending endorphins around your body is a sure-fire way of feeling better, particularly if you go out for a walk, as it is free! We haven’t really explored the area that we’re living in on foot, while it’s very residential, there are also a lot of sporting ovals and parks around, so we both have no excuse.

I woke up Hubs in the middle of the night, convinced he’d died as he was not-responsive, being sound asleep, no surprise there! Poor thing was shaken awake by someone fretting over him, he then had to question me to work out what the umpity ump I was doing, luckily I’d woken up myself enough to be able to tell him it was a dream and we both went back off to sleep again. He woke me up snoring this morning, so we’re all square.

Melbourne News: Aussie Rules new season starts tomorrow night! Hurrah. We’re off to the MCG to watch Carlton v. Richmond, which has been the first game of the season for the past 2-3 years (I’m sure that statistic will get verified). We’ve had rain predicted all week, but not seen any yet. What is the betting when we have to walk back to the car at the end of the evening, it is hoofing it down? As I learnt when I went to the G in the middle of summer, layers are key. I’ve already taken my lunch into work for tomorrow so I don’t have to take 2 bags with me, but I will be taking lots of clothes in a Mary Poppins stylee hand bag.

Hubs has booked tickets to the Long Room, we’re both going to have to be presentable, not always easily achieved at the end of the working day when I’ve rumpled up my hair. I was very excited to buy a pair of maternity trousers that don’t fall down last Friday for precisely this outing. So I will be in: fundies, vest top, top top (of some description), black merino wool jumper (my new best friend), said trousers, tights and boots. I will also take a hat, gloves and a scarf, luckily I can also still fit into my winter coat (just), so looking like a football in more ways than one, I should be warm enough. Therefore, it may also be bright sunshine and an Indian Summers day, so I may melt before I even get there. 

That is why this song is so relevant to us folks that live in this glorious city. Gotta love the Finn Brothers, contenders for the smoothest, loveliest voices in pop, and certainly some of the cleverest lyric writers. The sound is out from the picture on both videos, but I challenge you to listen to this and not have the hairs on the back of your neck stand up *nods*

Leave a Reply

