For the sheer bliss of it…

Yesterday I had a massage, about an hour after I’d finished at the chiropractor, I’ve been consciously taking extra care of my back since I got pregnant, I have a mild lordosis not enough to warrant invasive treatment, but one that puts pressure on my hips. If anything needed managing through this, it was always going to be my back.

Funnily enough, my hips, pelvis and lower back have been more stable since I got pregnant that ‘normally’. I’ve been going back and forth every 4-6 weeks, instead of every 3 weeks, to see my chiropractor, with a monthly massage to augment the treatment and also as a treat.

If I go to a beauty parlour to have a massage, I will fall asleep. When I see P, we chatter away through the hour, me breathing heavily through my nose at times when it gets sore, (remember, you can breathe through anything!) only closing my eyes when he reaches my scalp and face. I literally feel knots of tension being smoothed out, stresses from the day slip away and I walk out feeling serene and happy. Last night, he was running late, so I didn’t leave until 8:20, I got home had a cuppa and a chat with hubs, and sank into bed gratefully. I slept like a log for the first time in a couple of weeks.

Peanut also enjoyed it, wiggling around as I lay on my side. I’ve never been massaged on my side before, there is no-way I can lay on my tummy now, but it was just as deep, just as relaxing and as a bonus I didn’t come out with the ‘I’ve been in a hole in a massage table’ look.

One thought on “For the sheer bliss of it…

  1. Hey, just checking in to see how you’re doing. Glad you had an awesome massage. We miss you on the forum. Hope you’re staying well.
    xx Eliza (kuraiza)

Leave a Reply

