Tummy bugs and scary bugs

Over Friday night into Saturday morning I spent a couple of hours talking to God on the porcelain express. Unsure what caused it, it could have been something I ate, going to the beach, a bug; who knows, but being up ze duff means my resistance is lower than normal.
What I hate most about being sick, is feeling sick. I’d been lying there for a couple of hours hoping it would pass, pretending it wasn’t going to happen, but eventually admitted defeat and headed for the bathroom. Hubs, bless him, was great looking after me and despite having a disturbed night himself, made sure I was ok.
What I don’t understand is why I kept apologising. “I’m sorry! I’m sorry!” why the hell did I need to apologise for a totally involuntary reaction? What learned behaviour caused that?
We’re up in Queensland visiting the Outlaws, watching out for Cane Toads and creepy crawlies of sometimes epic proportions. I’m trying not to squeal like a girl when I see something out the corner of my eye, as I know my heart rate pounds and my stress levels rise. Trying not to frazzle myself and Peanut too, but when you get pointed out a praying mantis, or spiders as big as your hand – its hard work not to go ‘eek!’ and run away in the opposite direction.
Aside from that, we’re all feeling relaxed and happy, Peanut has been wiggling around like a mad thing. The night we were up all night, he was awake right along with us, and all through the day on Saturday. Unsurprisingly, he’s been a bit quieter today, but still has been letting me know he’s there with the odd thump and kick. Lying in bed and watching him roll over is both lovely and odd at the same time.
It’s hard to believe he’ll be here in 3 months, I’m blatantly pregnant now, yet only 2/3 of the way through. Wonder what size I’ll be by then?

One thought on “Tummy bugs and scary bugs

  1. Hi! I just found your blog (can’t even remember how!) and I wanted to say hi because we both have Haider as an OB & are both due in July! Haider delivered my first child almost 4 years ago & I have no complaints at all. He was fantastic :-) My original OB retired just before my due date & Haider took over the practice. I didn’t dislike my original OB but I was much happier with Haider. I have also just started following you on Twitter. Good luck with your pregnancy journey! Fran :-)

Leave a Reply

