Tutankhamun at Melbourne Museum

I’ve added a comment to the website, but they are moderating comments, so will probably moderate this one out, but as I typed it in word to check for spelling, I can reproduce it here for you:

I’m sorry, but I was bitterly disappointed in the exhibition; to the point where I came out in tears. $35 is a lot of money, you don’t get an option to buy a guide book before you go in, only an audio guide for $7.50, which you obviously need to buy as there is minimal information about the artefacts inside.

When you get in, the 10 rooms mostly consist of artefacts from his ancestors, the ‘dazzling array’ of possessions from his tomb is minimal. Billed as a great travelling masterpiece? I don’t think so. It’s been claimed that the exhibition is travelling around the world to allow for a new museum to be built in Egypt. It must be a really small museum, as there’s only one full size sarcophagus, and it’s not even his!

Using the iconic image of Tutankhamun’s gold mask is also false advertising as it is not to be seen, just the golden canopic coffinette which contained his liver.

Sending 60 people in at a time, but allowing them all to spend all day in there causes major blockages, we chose to go to the second session this morning and could barely move in some rooms. The preview pictures on the website are also from entirely different layout of the exhibition.

While this comment may be long, I am still apoplectic, so words are actually failing me. If I thought I could have asked for my money back I would have, but the girls in the shop were too busy having a conversation for me to worry about interrupting them. It was a waste of a visit, and after looking forward to it for months, a huge disappointment.

2 thoughts on “Tutankhamun at Melbourne Museum

  1. Pingback: Friday 13th « Penhaligon's Picayune

  2. Hi Maddie,

    I came across your blog post and feedback about the exhibition via Twitter and just wanted to take a moment to respond to some of your points your post above. Firstly, I’m sorry to hear you were hugely disappointed with the exhibition.

    – We have published your comment on our website as the team are back in the office this morning http://bit.ly/iHmbki (scroll down towards the bottom);

    – For further information regarding the new museum that will be built in Egypt (the Grand Egyptian Museum or GEM), I have found a Wikipedia entry here:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grand_Egyptian_Museum. I don’t know exactly what will be included in the new GEM, however I suspect it will not only house the objects that are in the exhibition, but also a whole lot more;

    – With regards to the advertising, the image that is used in all advertising for the exhibition is of the golden canopic coffinette and not Tutankhamun’s death mask. Here is an image of Tutankhamun’s death mask: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tutankhamun and of his canopic coffinette http://kingtutmelbourne.com.au/;

    – I take on your feedback regarding blockages/crowding inside the exhibition and have passed it onto the Tutankhamun exhibition team.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our website, write a blog post and post feedback Twitter.

    If you have any further queries or feedback, feel free to contact us directly.

    Warm regards,
    Jareen
    Online and Social Media
    Museum Victoria

Leave a Reply

