What is in our labour ‘goody bag’?

From today, this little tote is staying in our car, I wanted to check I’d included everything Hubs and I discussed, so here is what is in it:

  • A book, Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides – maybe I’m an optimist, but I also know I am a cranky biatch if I don’t read daily.
  • Peanut’s first outfit so we don’t have to rummage in the suitcase of clothes for it.
  • My ever-so-sexy nightgown. Pink, cotton, voluminous for access and going straight in the bin as soon as he’s arrived and I’m back on the ward.
  • The monitor bands from Friday, they have to throw them away after each use, so the midwife told me to take them home with me for when I go back in.
  • Birth plan, laminated.
  • A picture of roses and peonies.
  • Two pairs of slipper socks
  • Two heat pads to be nuked in a microwave
  • Playing cards.
  • Lip balm.
  • Two bottles of Powerade, blackcurrant flavour.
  • Deodorant.
  • Massage oil.
  • Mini packets of sultanas.
  • Tissues, nice & robust ones not the pathetic excuse they have for tissues in hospitals.
  • Totem, a wooden cat Aged P gave me.
  • Totem, Charlie Mouse – so Wiz and Jimbly are with us
  • Totem, Jeremy Fisher – so Baps and Badjur are with us
  • Totem, Jasper stone – that I can hold onto so Riki and Socki are with us
  • A piece of Rose Quartz to hold onto
  • An angel I brought ages ago in an Oxfam shop, she normally peers at me from my bedside table, I’m going to put her in front of the flowers, along with my other birth totems and look at them all.
Leave a Reply

