Operation getting ready for labour

I’ve finished work, insofar I’m not going into the office anymore. I do have some stuff I need to do this week, the CEO has given me 2 days to get things done spread over the week, which is fine, she’s also taken projects off me and delegated them elsewhere. However, the cold that I’ve been struggling with for the past couple of weeks has arrived. I guess now I’ve stopped, it thought it was safe to get here. Cough, cough, cough.

I spent most of yesterday in bed, surfaced about 2pm and did my ironing and then sat on the couch for the rest of the day. Another fitful night’s sleep later, I got up when Hubs left the house and vacuumed, and cleaned the bathroom, and made Peanut’s bed, and put the dishes away, and made a ratatouille. The plumber who we’d requested visit to look at the taps in our bathroom arrived and messed up the shower again as he fixed it, but I ain’t cleaning it again, I’m in clean clothes. I’m now waiting for our three-month inspection visit, they’ve an hour to get here, then I will get back into bed for the afternoon.

But I’ve finished work. And I don’t really know what to do with myself. I tweeted last night that I’m worried about not being fit enough or strong enough to cope with labour. So these coming weeks, however long they last before Peanut arrives, I’ve got some goals:

  • Get my diet back on track, stop eating wheat because it was easier to eat it – I’ve finished the quiche in the fridge and will not eat anything else with wheat in.
  • Walk every day, every day, when Hubs comes home tonight we’re going for a walk round the block. I need to make sure my legs and body are strong, I’m about to run a marathon or climb Mt Everest.
  • Exercise at home, I’ve got a yoga mat and I’m not afraid to use it.

They’re only small goals, but to me they’re huge. Simply because we’ve only got a few weeks for me to regain some semblance of fitness. I have not been able to exercise for a while, because I’ve felt so rough, I’m hoping that my usual resilience and because I’ve trained off and on all through my life I can bounce back quickly. I just need to shake this cold.

Leave a Reply

