Back to work, for Papa anyway

Today is Monday, which means one thing. Hubs is back to work after 2.5 weeks at home with us. Today I am on my own with our boy for most of the day.

We’ve talked about the night-time routine, I’ll get up to protect Hubs’ sleep through the week so he can work, come home and not be too tired to enjoy his boy in the evening. But a day time routine? I thought about what I wanted to achieve on an ‘ideal’ day and it is to get up, have breakfast, shower, dress and go for a walk. After that, anything else is a bonus. But I want to leave the house at least for a walk every single day. I am expecting to run a load of washing a day, I also want to do a little bit of housework each day to keep on top of it.

But what about me? What about my self care? I’ve a stack of books I want to read. I’ve got to recover and recuperate from the operation, I’ve got to regain my fitness, build back up to being able to going to the gym and swimming again with ease. I’m also acutely aware that I am essentially on my own until I start to meet other new mums in the area, so my mental self care is paramount too. I will continue to write to ensure my feelings get aired and I will continue to talk to Hubs as I have done since Peanut arrived. I’ve only had a few wobbles, usually when I get tired, but there is no sign of PND, for which I’m grateful. And relieved.

So far today we’ve had a feed at 3:40, 7:50 and a few cluster feeds since then. He’s washed and dressed, crashed out in his pram, I’ve had breakfast one handed with a luke-warm cup of tea and about to head for the shower. We’re both off to the shops to pick up what we missed yesterday, helps if you take the shopping list with you… I’ll get myself a soy hot chocolate and we’ll both get some air. When we get home, we can have lunch and both get a snooze in. Happy Days.

Leave a Reply

