Ten on Tuesday – Romantic Comedies

I know it’s Thursday in Australia, you’re lucky I’ve opened my lap top at all…

I love watching films, I’d rather put a DVD in than put the TV on, such is the dirth of good quality programs. And I watch some films over and over. On a cold winter’s day, there are few things better than curling up on the couch with a cup of tea and some biscuits and watching a good romantic comedy. Sadly, ‘good’ romantic comedies seem to have died the death at the cinema, I keep hoping one will pop up that has a good script, some chemistry between the leads, but I am left wanting time and again, so I return to these films for comfort and solace:

  1. Pretty Woman – one of the first VHS I brought for myself after I’d seen it at the cinema. As a once beloved English Teacher, Mr Tait, said. It has a beginning, middle and an end to the story. It’s the little touches I like going on in the background, like the window washer refusing to come down from the roof and Hector Elizondo’s character saying ‘It’s a Saturday!’ I also love Richard Gere with grey hair, this kick-started his career again, for good reason as he looked fabulous in it, and Julia Roberts was just beautiful.
  2. My Big Fat Greek Wedding – the brilliant script ‘You invited the whole family?’ makes me laugh every time, particularly the running joke about windex, but then the proposal scene is simply beautiful.
  3. Sleepless In Seattle – I think this gets my vote because of the strong supporting characters. Rosie O’Donnell, David Hyde Pearce and Bill Pullman all give really good performances, and I also like that it closes with Sam and Annie holding hands.
  4. Groundhog Day – I’m not a fan of Andie MacDowell, but as this concentrates on Bill Murray, I can put up with her! Again, it’s the strong script, the action in the background and supporting characters that I love, they hold the film together as Phil disintegrates. My favourite bit, when he grabs the toaster and gets in the bath and the lights flicker.
  5. The Philadelphia Story – who cannot love this film? I think I love Katharine Hepburn more than I love the boys actually.
  6. Notting Hill – ‘I’m just a girl’ Love it. And also when the door closes after dinner at his sister’s and they all scream in delight.
  7. Roman Holiday – who hasn’t wanted to take a couple of days out of their life?
  8. You’ve Got Mail – I think I love this one so much because of the bookshops. Meg Ryan probably looking at her best too. And finally, the best two till last. I simply can’t separate them:
  9. Some Like It Hot – ‘Nobody’s perfect.’ But this film is.
  10. When Harry Met Sally – the reason this is so popular 22 years later is because it set the bar so high. The script is tight, there isn’t a wasted scene, Billy Crystal is an unlikely romantical lead, but it is probably the truest reflection of what happens in real life outside of Hollywood. Bruno Kirby and Carrie Fisher hold their own too ‘You made a woman meow?’ I cannot fault it. I know it by heart, but it gets me every time.
Leave a Reply

