A New Year, a new office

No, I’ve not got a new job. The job has a new venue. I packed up my old desk on 14 December, left the office, had three weeks leave and today arrived at the new office to unpack and settle into my new desk.

Working at the new office means commuting into the CBD. I got up at 5:30am, same time as I did before, but instead of sitting in rush hour traffic for anything up to an hour and a half (on a very bad day), today I sat on a train for 40 minutes, read my book, walked out at Parliament Station, crossed the road and whizzed up 34 floors in a lift, so quickly my ears popped.

The office has amazing views, it’s a shame it is a hazy day today, when it is clear I will take some pictures for you all, but as we are on one whole floor, we get a 360 view of this wonderful city.

I would be naive to think that moving offices will resolve some of the issues I’ve been struggling with, as you take issues with you. A change of venue won’t necessarily tie things off into a neat parcel, but I’m hoping it will help. Sitting at a nice desk makes a big difference to people’s outlook, metaphorically and literally.

I’m aware I need to update you all about Christmas and New Years, please bear with me as I get used to commuting in and out on the train. I did it for years in the UK, and didn’t bat an eyelid about it. But now I have a toddler to contend with, which changes everything about how I live my life. Although I must admit, getting off the train and being in the city this morning was a lovely feeling. I have missed working in the hustle and bustle. Having a choice of coffee shops to go to, and the options of different parks to walk in, not to mention the window shopping I can catch up on.

Am feeling good today, my holiday feeling hasn’t gone. I’ve sorted my inbox out. Now I just need to work out what I need to do first. Although, I did have a huge sense of achievement today, as I hadn’t forgotten my password to log-on.

One thought on “A New Year, a new office

Leave a Reply

