One Billion Rising

Today is not only Valentine’s day, but also V-Day, this year asking One Billion People to rise up against violence to women, here is some more information from their website:

ABOUT ONE BILLION RISING

ONE IN THREE WOMEN ON THE PLANET WILL BE RAPED OR BEATEN IN HER LIFETIME.

ONE BILLION WOMEN VIOLATED IS AN ATROCITY

ONE BILLION WOMEN DANCING IS A REVOLUTION

On V-Day’s 15th Anniversary, 14 February 2013, we are inviting ONE BILLION women and those who love them to WALK OUT, DANCE, RISE UP, and DEMAND an end to this violence. ONE BILLION RISING will move the earth, activating women and men across every country. V-Day wants the world to see our collective strength, our numbers, our solidarity across borders.

What does ONE BILLION look like? On 14 February 2013, it will look like a REVOLUTION.

ONE BILLION RISING IS:

A global strike
An invitation to dance
A call to men and women to refuse to participate in the status quo until rape and rape culture ends
An act of solidarity, demonstrating to women the commonality of their struggles and their power in numbers
A refusal to accept violence against women and girls as a given
A new time and a new way of being

A girlfriend from work and I are about to head down to Federation Square to take part in the nearest event to us. It isn’t a great day for either of us, we both ache from our exertions running and at the gym, my husband is really poorly and has spent the best part of two days in bed. But, too many women get treated awfully for me not to be there.

—o0o—

On the subject of Valentine’s day. Hallmark and Interflora, would you kindly please stop jacking up the prices of flowers and demanding of people that they buy into ‘making their special person feel special’ shit?

Some people will be spending this ‘holiday’ on their own through no fault of their own; death, divorce, estrangement, spousal posting abroad, some for the first time in years on their own. Making such a big deal of it really annoys me, year after year. I don’t want my husband to feel obliged by someone else to buy me flowers? He gets them for me just because, tells me he loves me every day and brings me a cup of tea every morning in bed.

Love is an all year thing, not a one day in February thing *nods* but on that note, here is my favourite poem for you. Best read by in 82 Charing Cross Road (1:30 ish, the video was a bit skewiff, I hope it works ok for you.)

Had I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half-light,
I would spread the cloths under your feet:
But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Leave a Reply

