Mid-year resolutions

This week, the first in July, will set the tone for the rest of the year for me. I’ve got a week off between jobs, time to close the book on one and look at the cover on another.

Yesterday, despite my bed being just the right temperature and it being bitterly cold outside, I got dressed in my work out gear, already laid out, had breakfast with Peanut and trundled off to St Kilda to park at Luna Park. I then walked to Port Melbourne, had a $4 tea bag and walked back again. A 10.18km walk, or 6 and a bit miles in old money.

My sole purpose was to clear my head, and boy did it do that. I didn’t think about anything. I looked at the birds, the bike riders, the one crazy person going for a swim in the bay, greeted most people I walked past and blew the cobwebs away. By the time I was halfway home, I’d found the reading nook in the house I’d been looking for. I’d decided to take things off my phone, like Twitter, Facebook and emails. It was a very productive two hours.

Although I now ache in my hips and had to buy some insoles in my trainers as my feet were on fire after not doing any exercise for so long. The man in the shop wanted to sell me some new shoes, I said no thank you, just insoles please. I’m going to look at the two leisure centres I can join at a discounted rate, and choose one. Although I think I’ll go to the one with the pool, if it has a dry-side and classes running too. Then I’ll get the best of all worlds. I’m not sure I’m cut out for this running lark, certainly not starting it in the middle of winter anyway. Hubs course next semester has changed from Monday and Wednesday nights to Tuesday and Thursday, so we’re going to swap days that we collect the wee man.

The rough plan is that I’ll take him in every day, with walking him in at least once a week, need to buy some high-visibility reflective clothing before I do that though, it being still darkish when we would need to leave. I can then also drop him in earlier than ‘normal’ a couple of days a week, so I can exercise before work, and on the days that Hubs collects him, I can run off and do a class or have a swim and then come home.

But for the rest of this week? Well, the study and kitchen are getting hit. In fact, as soon as this blog is posted, pretty much everything in the study is coming out, being evaluated and then some of it will be going back in again, but not all of it.

For those that missed it, I’ve taken emails off my phone, so I will be hopping on every couple of days to read and respond, if you need an urgent answer, call me. It’s much more fun anyway. As for Twitter and Facebook, I’m wavering over Twitter, do I really need it? Is it enhancing my life, it was, but I don’t know if it is now. But we’ll see, Facebook I was persuaded back onto, and judging by the response to Peanut’s birthday album of photos, it was a good call. I’ll let y’all know what’s happening. But basically if you’re wanting to keep in touch with me (particularly this week) please drop me a text or call me. That’s what I’ll be doing.

Leave a Reply

