I like to move it, move it – Couch to 5km session 1

I’m right chuffed with myself. My plans yesterday changed, so I grabbed my pre-packed gym bag and headed down after work. I plugged myself into a Wittertainment podcast and hopped on the treadmill with trepidation.

I worked in and around gyms a lot in my teens and twenties, please take this as read: people honestly do not care what you look like in the gym, what you do in the gym and if they do sit in judgement of you, then you’re a better person than they are. Everyone has to start somewhere, if you make eye contact with someone, the chances are they’ll give you a grin of encouragement and if they are a peacock:

They are only going to care that you are looking at them. Why are they orange? I have never understood that. Although I have never understood why people think that it is attractive, but they are having fun, so to each to his own. At least they’re doing something physical, which is more than I can say I’ve been doing for the past couple of years.

Anyhoo, I digress. I found a comfortable walking pace and set off, after a bit I did a minute’s running, then some walking, then another minute running and so on. I got to the end and I realised I’d quite enjoyed myself. And was amazed. I struggle to run because I’ve spent so long swimming, it’s a bit of an effort, but I am determined to do it. Friday morning I’m going in again before work for session two, I can’t get there on Sunday so Monday morning I’ll be back for session three.

After my run I popped into the pool for a quick cool down, I didn’t swim far. But I did a bit of front crawl and a bit of backstroke to test my right shoulder out, it’s a lot freer than it has been. I then popped in the spa for a bit, but got fed up of waiting for the bubble cycle so headed for the shower.

It has begun.

Leave a Reply

