I like to move it, move it – Couch to 5km session 5

Yesterday I headed up to the gym. After not finding time (bad Maddie) over the weekend and having a headache all day on Monday, this was my first visit in a week. Starting to walk while I did the traditional head-phone detangle, I upped my incline from 1-2%. Not much difference, but I’ve got to get used to running on hills somehow.

After the five minute warm-up walk, I began running and thought ‘Oh’ I was a bit stiff and clunky in my movements. But by the time I got to the last, (sixth), ninety second run, I was flying and felt great.

I say flying, as I’m still running very slowly compared to some of the other people pounding away next to me. I keep re-reading the ‘RUN SLOWLY’ bit of the instructions, people obviously get carried away and exhaust themselves, never to run again. And it is tempting when you’re feeling strong and going well. When I collected my card in exchange for my locker key, the receptionist looked at me, when I got to the car, I realised why. I was pink in the cheeks, but I didn’t look like I’d been on a treadmill for half an hour! When it was the heatwave, I was dripping with sweat, but I think the core training I spent my teenage years doing is again holding me in good stead. I pick up fitness very quickly, so I’m grateful for the years I spent swimming.

I signed up for my first road race this week, the Run4Kids 5km run in April. Hubs and Hanno are going in for the 15km version, I inadvertently booked my spot in the wrong section though as I didn’t see ‘If you’re running with a pram book here’ until too late and once you’re in, you’re in. I just need to line up with different coloured bibs to the one I’ll be wearing, it isn’t too much of a problem. I then found another four road races through the year, two in May, one in July and one in November. Hubs and I are going to discuss what ones to enter, I don’t think I’ll do both of the May ones, but we’ll work it out. One of my goals for this year is to be running 10-15km with ease by the end of the year, so the City2Sea in November at 14km is definitely a good one to aim for.

My detox pack arrived yesterday, having looked again at the diary – I’ve pushed the start back to Monday 10 February when Mum leaves. We’re booking the wine tour for the final week she’s here, and while I’m meeting a friend for afternoon tea in the middle of it, I can eat round the detox for one day, but I can’t blow it off with wine tasting in the middle of it.

Mum and Hubs conspired together on a present, I was given a huge box of stationery from Kikki-K, along with a Dream Journal and a My Dream Life Box. They’re not ‘dreams’ as in me being married to Boy George and trying to escape out a hotel and being stuck in rooms, or even Colin Firth serving me coffee (that was a nice one). But dreams of where I want to go to. As I walked back to the office today, the grass had been mown, cutting up the fallen gum tree leaves in the process, the whole area at the front of the office smelt of eucalyptus, the sun was shining but it’s not too hot – all was well in my little world. I’m not sure where my dreams will take me, I don’t want to dream too big – but big enough. I’ll work through the box first and see where that takes me. I might keep the Journal for family dreams and goals. We’ll see.

So far, my word for the year, ‘Fit’ is still standing me in good stead. I know mum is here, so that might skew things a little – but I’m honestly happier than I have been in a while, and have been consistently since before Christmas. Huzzah.

Leave a Reply

