I like to move it, move it – Couch to 5km session 10

I went to the gym on Tuesday morning after a bad night with Peanut and got halfway through the second run section of this workout and had to stop. I knew if I carried on, I’d be ill, fall off the treadmill or something else equally as glamorous.

Last night (Thursday) I took myself up to the gym and started over. ‘No matter how hard the past, you can always begin again’ said Buddha and he was right, as usual. I had four separate running sessions:

00:00-5:00: Warm-up walk
5:00-8:00: Run
8:00-9:30: Walk
9:30-14:30: Run
14:30-17:00: Walk
17:00-20:00: Run
20:00-21:30: Walk
21:30-26:30: Run
26:30-30:00: Cool-down walk

Now, this isn’t a lot of running in the grand scheme of things, but when you’re not used to running, it can hurt. When you’re unfit, it can really hurt and when you’re also in the middle of a detox, aren’t sleeping very well and are worried about something, it really hurts. Last night I felt like I was running through treacle on the second run, but only because my stride was a bit off, I breathed a bit deeper, tried a bit harder and made it. The third run felt better, but I was very pleased it was over with, but a minute and a half is not very long to get your breath back and sort yourself out.

The last run halfway through I was flagging, but determined to carry on then Alexandra Heminsley popped into my head “Drive with your arms” so I did. And I nailed it. Absolutely nailed it. I nearly fist pumped the guy next to me, but I thought he’d find it a bit odd, so I settled for a grin on my face while I walked the last bit.

I was so happy, I have this huge hill to puff up on my walk to work and instead of getting easier, I am struggling with walking up it all in one hit, which I used to be able to do. I was really worried I’d have to stop running, so to finish so strongly after having to abandon it on Tuesday made my week.

I came home, had a lovely dinner, then Peanut had nightmares all night again. I’ve never wanted a strong soy latte so much in my life as I do right now. I’m so tired, I could cry. All week this has been going on and we have no idea why; other than Granny was here, now she’s not and he’s worried we won’t be too. Answers on a postcard please…

I’m going to the gym tomorrow and on Monday, when I have an RDO. If I didn’t have plans, I’d hibernate for the day.

Leave a Reply

